The 'Union Jack', shown in the top corner, indicates the fact that the first European colonists where from Britain. Below this is the Federation Star, it has seven points: one for each of the states and one for the Territory of Papua, acquired in 1906. The five stars are representative of the Southern Cross, a southern hemisphere constellation marking the South Pole. Current flag version was last changed in 1908.