The colours used in the National flag of India are representative of the following: Orange for Hinduism; Green for Islam; and White for the possibility of unity and peace.

The spoked wheel in the centre, known as the 'Ashoka Chakra', represents the 'Wheel of Law' from the 3rd Century B.C. Mauryan Emperor Ashoka.

This version of the flag was adopted on the 22nd of July 1947.