The official name of the Malaysian National Flag, Jalur Gemilang, was chosen in 1997 on the 40th anniversary of the country's independence. The crescent moon on the flag is a symbol of Islam and the colour yellow represents royalty, this is positioned over a background of blue which represents the harmony of the people. The 14 stripes and points of the star are representative of the 13 member states of Malaysia and the district of Kuala Lumpur.

The current version of this flag was adopted in 1963, although it is based on a design adopted in 1950 by Malaya.