Republic of the Philippines


It is said that the symbols contained in the flag of the Philippines are as follows: the three stars are for the three largest islands (Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao); the white triangle is for equality and purity; the blue stripe is for peace, truth, and justice; the red stripe is for courage, patriotism, and valour; the sun is for the dawning of a new era; and the eight rays of light on the sun are for the eight provinces that rose in revolt against Spanish rule in the late 19th century.